1.877.286.2773services@mass-doc.com Customers must use the website to place an order. Phone orders are not accepted.

What is the Probate and Family Court?

The Massachusetts Probate Courts have exclusive jurisdiction over probate matters such as wills, trusts, guardianships, and conservatorships.

For example, if a person passes away in Massachusetts, and there are matters of probate, their family or attorney must file probate matters in the county where they officially lived before their death.

The Probate Courts also have jurisdiction over family-related matters:

If you're unfamiliar with Massachusetts city or county borders, you can view or download these present-day maps.

Author Profile

About the Author

J. James Simonson, a journalism graduate from Boston's Suffolk University, stands out for his specialization in contemporary Massachusetts court records, focusing on probate, divorce, and estate cases. Through detailed research and analysis, he supports law firms, paralegals, financial institutions, and genealogists, seamlessly connecting traditional genealogical methods with the complexities of modern legal proceedings. Known for his adept interpretation of legal documents, Simonson is invaluable for those exploring intricate legal histories. Actively keeping abreast of the latest legal trends, he continuously enhances his contributions to the field.

Showing 1 - 3 of 14 Probate Courts.

Barnstable Probate and Family Court

County Established 2 June 1685 from Plymouth County

3195 Main Street
PO Box 346
Barnstable, MA 02630

Telephone: (508) 375-6710
Email: Barnstable Probate Court
Virtual Registry: https://www.zoomgov.com/j/1605462604

Hours: M - F 8:30AM - 4:30PM

Towns In Court's Jurisdiction: Barnstable, Bourne, Brewster, Chatham, Dennis, Eastham, Falmouth, Harwich, Mashpee, Orleans, Provincetown, Sandwich, Truro, Wellfleet

Berkshire Probate and Family Court

County Established 21 April 1761 from Hampshire County

44 Bank Row
Pittsfield, MA 01201

Telephone: (413) 442-6941
Email: Berkshire Probate Court

Hours: M - F  8:30AM - 4PM 

Towns In Court's Jurisdiction: Adams, Alford, Becket, Cheshire, Clarksburg, Dalton, Egremont, Florida, Great Barrington, Hancock, Hinsdale, Lanesborough, Lee, Lenox, Monterey, Mt. Washington, New Ashford, New Marlborough, North Adams, Otis, Peru, Pittsfield, Richmond, Sandisfield, Savoy, Sheffield, Southfield, Stockbridge, Tyringham, Washington, West Stockbridge, Williamstown, Windsor

Bristol County Probate Court

County Established 2 June 1685 from Plymouth County

40 Broadway, Suite 240
Taunton, MA 02780

Telephone: (508) 977-6040
Email: Bristol Probate Court
Virtual Registry: https://www.zoomgov.com/j/1612606196

Hours: M - F  8:30AM - 4:30PM 

Towns/Cities In Court's Jurisdiction:Acushnet, Attleboro, Berkley, Dartmouth, Dighton, Easton, Fairhaven, Fall River, Freetown, Mansfield, New Bedford, North Attleboro, Norton, Raynham, Rehoboth, Seekonk, Somerset, Swansea, Taunton, Westport.