1.877.286.2773services@mass-doc.com Customers must use the website to place an order. Phone orders are not accepted.

What is the Probate and Family Court?

The Massachusetts Probate Courts have exclusive jurisdiction over probate matters such as wills, trusts, guardianships, and conservatorships.

For example, if a person passes away in Massachusetts, and there are matters of probate, their family or attorney must file probate matters in the county where they officially lived before their death.

The Probate Courts also have jurisdiction over family-related matters:

If you're unfamiliar with Massachusetts city or county borders, you can view or download these present-day maps.

Author Profile

About the Author

J. James Simonson, a journalism graduate from Boston's Suffolk University, stands out for his specialization in contemporary Massachusetts court records, focusing on probate, divorce, and estate cases. Through detailed research and analysis, he supports law firms, paralegals, financial institutions, and genealogists, seamlessly connecting traditional genealogical methods with the complexities of modern legal proceedings. Known for his adept interpretation of legal documents, Simonson is invaluable for those exploring intricate legal histories. Actively keeping abreast of the latest legal trends, he continuously enhances his contributions to the field.

Showing 11 - 12 of 14 Probate Courts.

Nantucket Probate and Family Court

County Established 22 June 1695 from Dukes County

Town and County Building
16 Broad Street
PO Box 1116
Nantucket, MA 02554

Telephone: (508) 228-2669
Email: Nantucket Probate Court

Hours: M - F 8:30AM - 4:00PM

Norfolk Probate and Family Court

County Established 10 May 1643 - disbanded 4 February 1680. Probate Records 1643 - 1714 are at Essex County Probate Court, Salem. Current county established 26 March 1793 from Suffolk County.

35 Shawmut Road
Canton, MA 02021

Telephone: (781) 830-1200
Email: Norfolk Probate Court
Virtual Registry: https://www.zoomgov.com/j/16178466497

Hours: M - F  8:30AM - 4:30PM 

Towns In Court's Jurisdiction: Avon, Bellingham, Braintree, Brookline, Canton, Holbrook, Medfield, Medway, Millis, Milton, Needham, Norfolk, Norwood, Plainville, Quincy, Randolph, Sharon, Stoughton, Walpole, Wellesley, Westwood, Weymouth, Wrentham

Plymouth Probate and Family Court

County Established 2 June 1685 from Plymouth Colony

52 Obery Street
Plymouth, MA 02360

Telephone: (413) 442-6941
Email: Plymouth Probate Court
Virtual Registry: https://www.zoomgov.com/j/1606727074

Hours: M - F  8:30AM - 4PM 

Towns In Court's Jurisdiction: Abington, Bridgewater, Brockton, Carver, Duxbury, East Bridgewater, Halifax, Hanover, Hanson, Hingham, Hull, Kingston, Lakeville, Marion, Marshfield, Mattapoisett, Middleboro, Norwell, Pembroke, Plymouth, Plympton, Rochester, Rockland, Scituate, Wareham, West Bridgewater, Whitman