1.877.286.2773services@mass-doc.com Customers must use the website to place an order. Phone orders are not accepted.

What is the Probate and Family Court?

The Massachusetts Probate Courts have exclusive jurisdiction over probate matters such as wills, trusts, guardianships, and conservatorships.

For example, if a person passes away in Massachusetts, and there are matters of probate, their family or attorney must file probate matters in the county where they officially lived before their death.

The Probate Courts also have jurisdiction over family-related matters:

If you're unfamiliar with Massachusetts city or county borders, you can view or download these present-day maps.

Author Profile

About the Author

J. James Simonson, a journalism graduate from Boston's Suffolk University, stands out for his specialization in contemporary Massachusetts court records, focusing on probate, divorce, and estate cases. Through detailed research and analysis, he supports law firms, paralegals, financial institutions, and genealogists, seamlessly connecting traditional genealogical methods with the complexities of modern legal proceedings. Known for his adept interpretation of legal documents, Simonson is invaluable for those exploring intricate legal histories. Actively keeping abreast of the latest legal trends, he continuously enhances his contributions to the field.

Showing 4 - 6 of 14 Probate Courts.

Dukes Probate and Family Court

County Established 1 November 1683 by New York and 22 June 1695 by Massachusetts

81 Main Street
PO Box 237
Edgartown, MA 02539

Telephone: (508) 627-4703

Email: Dukes Probate Court

Hours: M - F 8:30AM - 4:30PM

Towns In Court's Jurisdiction: Aquinnah, Edgartown, Chilmark, Gosnold, Oak Bluffs, Tisbury, West Tisbury.

Essex Probate and Family Court

County Established 10 May 1643

36 Federal Street
Salem, MA 01970

Telephone: (978) 744-1020
Email: Essex Probate Court
Virtual Registry: https://www.zoomgov.com/j/1613549831

Hours: M - F 8:00AM - 4:30PM

Towns/Cities In Court's Jurisdiction:Amesbury, Andover, Beverly, Boxford, Danvers, Essex, Georgetown, Gloucester, Groveland, Hamilton, Haverhill, Ipswich, Lawrence, Lynn, Lynnfield, Manchester-By-The-Sea, Marblehead, Merrimac, Methuen, Middleton, Nahant, Newbury, Newburyport, North Andover, Peabody, Rockport, Rowley, Salem, Salisbury, Saugus, Swampscott, Topsfield, Wenham, West Newbury.

Franklin Probate and Family Court

County Established 24 June 1811from Hampshire County.

43 Hope ST
PO Box 590 Greenfield, MA 01302

Telephone: (413) 774-7011
Email: Franklin Probate Court
Virtual Registry: https://www.zoomgov.com/j/1606480378

Hours: M - F 8:00AM - 4:30PM

Towns/Cities In Court's Jurisdiction:Ashfield, Bernardston, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Conway, Deerfield, Erving, Gill, Greenfield, Hawley, Heath, Leverett, Leyden, Monroe, Montague, New Salem, Northfield, Orange, Rowe, Shelburne, Shutesbury, Sunderland, Warwick, Wendell, Whately.